Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-11-08 - 22:50:21
mourning in america

I was one of at least four people I know on campus who dressed in black this morning to mourn the election of George W. Of course, when I got to breakfast, I heard about Florida (which I predicted last night would turn out to be rotten, by the way, but I hadn't hoped it would be found out soon enough to make a difference), and there was, well, cautious rejoicing.

Gah... As I write, checking the recount #s on CNN.com, Bush is still holding on to his Florida lead by, like, 2,000 votes. They were right about Nader... goddess damn it. America sucks.

I do love America. If I didn't, I wouldn't worry about her so much. I'd just move to Canada. (Which might not be such a bad idea. I could go live with my cool grandma in Toronto.) I've been reading Thucydides' first-hand account of the fall of Athens, and now I can't help walking around wondering if I'm witnessing the fall of this empire.

I was discussing this with another student and he said, "Well, every generation thinks they're headed for the collapse of civilisation as they know it."

I said, "Yeah, but sometimes they're right."


I believe in yesterday --- I love ya, tomorrow

test - 2017-10-08
boing - 2003-06-07
walk walk trudge trudge slog slog travel travel - 2003-05-21
ob-la-di - 2003-05-18
not dead. - 2002-12-08

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


What do you get when you multiply six by ?