Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-11-27 - 04:20:03
layin' down some science

La. As mentioned before, now that I know several people read this, I should probably address some of the issues attendant upon having other people read one's journal... So. I had a much longer version of this thing, but it boils down to this:

Online journalling is a bit weird and inherently narcissistic. The basic assumption is that people find one interesting enough to read, well, one's diary. That whatever strikes the journaller's fancy and seems interesting to write aboot for one's own entertainment will also be interesting enough to hold the attention of others. If people find me that interesting, I'm charmed. If they don't, I'm in no way surprised. (Or disappointed.) I can go either way on this one (how unusual for me, heh). I've already said that I wouldn't at all mind doing this purely for my own entertainment. Priority one for me was to get myself writing regularly in an extracurricular way again, and so far, I've succeeded in that.

There are things I won't write aboot here, but that's because *I* don't want to share them with The Web-Browsing Public At Large. I consider certain of my issues unfit for the public domain. The line I draw is a fine and very oddly shaped one -- I wouldn't try to make sense of the division between things written aboot and things left out if I were you. There are also some things that I might discuss if it were just my business, but won't because they involve other people's business as well. If there's some personal information about another person's life that would cause them to be upset if they knew it was being shared in this way, then you won't find it here, even if that person would probably never know aboot it.

So that's the Official Policy here at The Mg't Is Not Responsible (subject to change without notice, of course). Tomorrow's entry: Aristotle.[2] Or Penn & Teller, perhaps. Or Joe C. Depends what mood I'm in.

[edited 1/1/03]


I believe in yesterday --- I love ya, tomorrow

test - 2017-10-08
boing - 2003-06-07
walk walk trudge trudge slog slog travel travel - 2003-05-21
ob-la-di - 2003-05-18
not dead. - 2002-12-08

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


What do you get when you multiply six by ?