Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-03-01 - 17:31:49
age doth not wither, nor custom stale

Hmm, I came to sit down and write an entry, although I haven't any idea of what I'm going to say. This should be interesting. Come, follow me as I haphazardly till the fields of my mind.

We have some actors from London on an unfortunately short residence here at the school (they depart on Sunday, methinks). They did a stunning five-person production of A Winter's Tale, a review of which will be forthcoming if I find the time later today. Two of them have come to work with us in my acting class this week, which has been just marvelous. They did some very good work with physical stuff and monologues, and shared some reflections on their own experience. Quite engaging and refreshingly honest about their craft. (Neither of them has any time for the good old RSC, which rather confirms the suspicion I already had of that venerable institution.)

Anyway, the time I've spent talking and listening to them has just reminded me how much I miss London. I don't think I ever talked about this winter's trip there at any great length on this site. I'd wanted to actually update from London, but that necessitated more time in the local internet cafe than I could actually spare. I did fall for the place quite hard, though, despite a little frustration on my first day there about nothing being open on Sundays. We only really got one day to relax and enjoy the city, and when it was time to take off, I was not very interested in going back to the States. I haven't visited somewhere and had such a feeling of "yep, I think this is the right place" since I visited my school a couple years back. (It wasn't my first visit -- the family went to England for a longer stay once before, but that was almost ten years back, and I'd forgotten just how much I liked it.)

So I started missing the place pretty much as soon as I got on the plane back home, and I've been contemplating the study-abroad programs available here -- there's a semester- or year-long London theatre exchange program. Some of the students in my acting class apparently did it last semester. Maybe during my junior year, or even next year (the semester program, probably, not the whole year). As an added bonus, it would get me the hell out of this country for a good chunk of time during the present administration; always a plus.

I guess that's it for today's ramble. Cataera docebit usus, and remember, all your base are belong to us.


Fun fact of the day: Our word "essay" comes from the French word for "try," and is still occasionally used in that original sense. I encourage you to use the word in this sense at the next opportunity, if only to annoy your uncultured English teachers.

[edited 1/1/03]


I believe in yesterday --- I love ya, tomorrow

test - 2017-10-08
boing - 2003-06-07
walk walk trudge trudge slog slog travel travel - 2003-05-21
ob-la-di - 2003-05-18
not dead. - 2002-12-08

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


What do you get when you multiply six by ?