Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-06-27 - 11:49 p.m.
drabble

I *will* have a long review of this past weekend's activities--the much-anticipated L.A. Rocky convention, Frankie Goes To Hollywood--written up and posted probably by tomorrow night. For now, the capsule review: Bob Simon rocks my world, Patricia Quinn is adorable, Shock Treatment is a sweet movie, Rocky Horror should really start before 2:30 AM, and absolutely every con should end with a softball game.

Today, the only interesting thing that happened was that I went to a bookstore in San Francisco to get some books signed by Neil Gaiman, who is on tour promoting his new novel, American Gods. I thought it was going to be a signing-and-reading, but it turned out he was just signing, and there was a reading at a different bookstore this evening, which I found out about too late to go to it. But it was really cool meeting him, if only briefly (longtime readers will recall that I have great admiration[1] for Mr. Gaiman). He is, as far as I can tell, just a very gracious and truly nice guy, and he took an interest in what each person had to say, though each conversation only lasted the few moments it took for him to sign a couple books. One could almost believe that our endless series of names and faces wouldn't completely blur together for him by the time the day was over. (He put something different in each of the three books I had him sign--"Sweet dreams" in one, a doodle of a smiling moon in another--and, being the educated British person that he is, said I had a "nice woodland name.")

That is all.

[1] Good heavens, as a matter of fact, that was the very first entry I wrote with any substance. Hunh.


When I was a child, adults would tell me not to make things up, warning me of what would happen if I did. As far as I can tell it seems to involve a lot of foreign travel and not having to get up too early in the morning.

--From the introduction to Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman


I believe in yesterday --- I love ya, tomorrow

test - 2017-10-08
boing - 2003-06-07
walk walk trudge trudge slog slog travel travel - 2003-05-21
ob-la-di - 2003-05-18
not dead. - 2002-12-08

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


What do you get when you multiply six by ?