Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-09-06 - 16:16
labor me vocat

All of my classes are blurring together already. This is something I should have seen from a mile away, of course. I'm taking Latin 110, Humanities 210 (Early Modern Europe), Religion 156 (Intro to Modern Christianity) and 201 (Theory and Method in Religious Studies).[1] So all of the latter three classes are just chock-full of Latin phrases and quotations that I'm beginning to get the hang of translating on the fly (I'm good with languages, so I can usually guess these references anyway, but now it's going faster), and the early Christian thinkers we're looking at in Hum 210 are just a step behind what the last few lectures have been on in Religion 156, and my brain is already doing funny things where I can't remember whether I'm reading something for Relgion 201 or 156.

I'm beginning to understand that I really need to get my shit together. Latin 110 has a mini-quiz almost every day to make sure we did the reading, and I bombed the one yesterday because I'd forgotten that I needed to memorize the noun declensions[2] from the previous night's assignment. This morning I set my alarm for 7:10 AM because I wanted to get to the Student Activities Office, which opened at 8:00, to get my ticket to the upcoming TMBG concert. But due to a screwup on my part, the alarm didn't go off. I did, however, wake up at 8:30, get dressed quickly, slouch down to the SAO and get my ticket, slouch back to my room to realize I'd forgotten to take my meds last night (I take lithium--600mg at night), take a shower, take 300mg of lithium[3], do about 10 minutes of ki meditation, and go to breakfast.I also used some of this time to study my Latin vocabulary, since class did not begin until 11:00. The day went pretty normally after that, except that around midafternoon I realized that I'd completely forgotten that I had an appointment at 9:00 this morning to have blood drawn for lithium levels (this is a regular checkup thing which I should get more often than I do). Bah. It would've been a bad day to do it anyway...

So, upshot of this: I need to get my shit together. Sleep is a good thing. Also, morning meditation, which entails getting up early enough to have time for same, which entails going to bed earlier. Which would be easier in a quieter dorm, mind you. Right now I can hear two distinct alarms going off outside, and I have no idea what either one is. (I suspect one is a dormie's forgotten alarm clock.)

...And now they've both stopped, in unison. Maybe it was just one wack-ass alarm.

...

Of course, as soon as I finished typing that last paragraph, the FIRE ALARM went off. Which actually sucks *even more* than the alarm in my last dorm. (This is okay, of course, because if there was a real fire, you would need an alarm obnoxious enough to get lazy college students the hell out of their rooms.)

Anyway, I should be working. Si valent, valeo.

[1] But wait, I hear you cry, aren't you a theatre person? Yes. It's a long story.

[2] Noun declensions: Another thing upon which I will expound further on a later date.

[3] By the way, you really should not mess around with medication schedules like this, even if you've skipped a dose. I've been on the stuff for a long time, so I know what I can get away with, but don't try this at home; it's a Bad Idea. [/PSA]


I believe in yesterday --- I love ya, tomorrow

test - 2017-10-08
boing - 2003-06-07
walk walk trudge trudge slog slog travel travel - 2003-05-21
ob-la-di - 2003-05-18
not dead. - 2002-12-08

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


What do you get when you multiply six by ?