Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-26 - 01:24
quotes of the day

[edited on 10/28]


"Paul Wellstone was the soul of the Senate. He was one of the most noble and courageous men I have ever known. He was a gallant and passionate fighter, especially for the less fortunate. I am grateful to have known Paul and Sheila as dear and close friends. Their deaths are a shattering loss to Minnesota, to the nation and to all who knew and loved them. The tragic deaths of their daughter Marcia, as well as three of Paul's loyal staffers, and their pilots compounds this unbearable loss. The heartfelt condolences of the entire United States Senate go out to the Wellstone family and the families of all who were lost with him. The nation has lost a fearless public servant and tireless advocate for justice."
--Sen. Tom Daschle, D-South Dakota

"Paul Wellstone was one of the most valiant public servants I have ever known. He had a very good mind, but he also had an honest mind. And he served what he believed in, no matter what the challenge. He also had a great heart and he fought all of those years right up until this morning to help change this country and protect the decent spirit of our nation. And he had something else, he had his wife, Sheila, and together they made one of the most impressive public couples in America. They had a wonderful family and together, they helped this state and all of us so much. I think if Paul were here, he'd want us to think about one thing and that is to carry on the fight that he led with such brilliance and courage over all of these years. And Paul and Sheila, we intend to do that."
--Former Vice President Walter F. Mondale

"This hour in history needs a dedicated circle of transformed nonconformists. Dangerous passions of pride, hatred and selfishness are enthroned in our lives; truth lies prostrate on the rugged hills of nameless Calvaries. The saving of our world from pending doom will come, not through the complacent adjustment of the conforming majority, but through the creative maladjustment of a nonconforming minority."
--Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. (1963)

"I am tired of working for candidates who make me think I should be embarrassed to believe what I believe, Sam! I'm tired of getting them elected! We all need some therapy. Because somebody came along and said 'liberal' means 'soft on crime, soft on drugs, soft on Communism, soft on defense, and we're gonna tax you back to the Stone Age because people shouldn't have to go to work if they don't want to.' And instead of saying, 'Well, excuse me, you right-wing, reactionary, xenophobic, homophobic, anti-education, anti-choice, pro-gun, Leave it to Beaver trip back to the '50s,' we cowered in the corner and said, 'Please don't hurt me.' No more. I really don't care who's right, who's wrong. We're both right. We're both wrong. Let's have two parties, huh? What do you say?"
--Bruno Gianelli (Ron Silver), The West Wing, ep. 306, "Gone Quiet" (written by Aaron Sorkin)

Sam: Why do we bother?
Al: 'Cause that's what we do. We're...professional botherers.
--Quantum Leap

THANK YOU PAUL
YOUR FIGHT IS OURS NOW
--sign at Oct. 26 peace march in San Francisco


I believe in yesterday --- I love ya, tomorrow

test - 2017-10-08
boing - 2003-06-07
walk walk trudge trudge slog slog travel travel - 2003-05-21
ob-la-di - 2003-05-18
not dead. - 2002-12-08

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


What do you get when you multiply six by ?